After just a year’s run, Yap Voicemail service is on the block.  Yap is the Google Voice-like voicemail-to-text service for Android and iPhone. And it’s headed out the door. I’m disappointed. I wrote a review of it five months ago and the service is still humming. So far, Yap hasn’t announced the reason for its shutdown. Where do Yap users go now?  There’s of course Google Voice — but I’d rather keep my conversations off of the search conglomerate’s servers.  Lesser known alternatives I’m considering are YouMail, Gotvoice, PhoneTag, VoiceCloud, and VoxSciences. I’ll be checking them out in reviews here at groovyPost soon. Here’s the email Yap sent me: Shortly after that email arrived, the yapinc.com website confirmed the closure.

I’m pretty bummed myself. Yap was a lifesaver, and I love the simplicity of it –it’s not bundled into a full social network or email/profile system. That’s what made it great. It helps us keep track of orders and clients messages. Bummer to see it go, but look forward to your reviews of the other apps. Mahalo, WHAT………………. Why would it reattach itself after so long. I tried to punch in the ##004# for AT & T but it doesn’t work. I don’t even have Yap installed on my iphone, not sure why or how this happened. HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Yap Voicemail Shutting Down - 93Yap Voicemail Shutting Down - 54Yap Voicemail Shutting Down - 32